White Room Reviews

CD-, DVD- en concertreviews, nieuws, interviews en events

BPMD covert Cactus-klassieker ‘Evil’

BPMD, voor wie het niet weet, dat is de nieuwe band van Bobby Blitz (Exodus), Mike Portnoy (The Winery Dogs, Sons Of Apollo en ex-Dream Theater), Mark Menghi (Metal Alliance) en Phil Demmel (Vio-Lence en ex-Machine Head), heeft een nieuwe single online gezet.

Het gaat om ‘Evil’. Deze track van Cactus krijgt volgens de band te weinig credits. De track is overigens van de hand van Willie Nelson. Cactus ver-hardrockte deze track.

Bassist Mark Menghi zegt over “Evil”:
Cactus is a lost American treasure that needs more recognition. They were doing things on their instruments (and as a band) before many of their contemporaries/peers/labelmates of the time. We were fully aware that the great Willie Dixon wrote this tune for Howlin’ Wolf in the early 1950’s… Cactus reimagined the song for the their time of the early ’70s, we reimagined Cactus’ version for our generation in the early ’20s… so for a tune that is 65+ years old that’s still being covered says something… a good tune can stand the test of time.”

Frontman Bobby Blitz voegt daaraan toe:
“I choose my cuts on the record for two reasons: 1) how they would fit my voice, and 2) a deeper, heavier cut. I really love the grit in Rusty Day’s voice on the Cactus track and wanted to replicate it with my own, not copy per se, but for sure not lose that grit. The song to me, though blues based, is the perfect bridge into the heavy metal that followed. I used the basic vocal line as to not lose the integrity but reimagined it with more of a ‘metal’ phrasing. ‘Evil’ is really one of the BPMD tracks I am most proud of.
You’re a long way from home…”

Acclaimed drummer en Cactus-lid Carmine Appice laat over deze cover weten:
“A new twist on ‘Evil’, one of the best, kick-ass blues/rock songs of all time. This version will appeal to BPMD’s heavy metal fans. I was glad to hear the Cactus arrangement of the song, but with the bass, drums and guitar heavied up even more… Phil’s guitar solo revs up with lots of energy… with Portnoy and Menghi kicking under it, while keeping that energy going. Bobby’s vocals sit nicely on top and I really liked the change in some of the phrasing. Great job guys!”

‘Evil’ is één van de tien tracks die op het op 12 juni te verschijnen American Made staat. Op die plaat, die via Napalm Records uit gaat komen, coveren de heren meer klassiekers uit de jaren ’70. Eerder werd als Aerosmiths ‘Toys In The Attic’ al gelanceerd als single.

American Made Tracklist:
1. Wang Dang Sweet Poontang
2. Toys in the Attic
3. Evil
4. Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers
5. Saturday Night Special
6. Tattoo Vampire (featuring Buck Dharma of Blue Öyster Cult)
7. D.O.A.
8. Walk Away
9. Never in My Life
10. We’re an American Band

This Metal Allegiance photo was taken with the NIKON Z 7 on Thursday Jan. 16, 2020 in the House of Blues section of Anaheim, California. © 2020 (Photo by Scott Diussa)

Verder Bericht

Vorige Bericht

© 2022 White Room Reviews

Thema door Anders Norén