White Room Reviews

CD-, DVD- en concertreviews, nieuws, interviews en events

Plaat vol covers voor Monster Magnet

Leestijd: 2 minuten

Wie Monster Magnet zegt, zegt ‘Spacelord‘. Echter, de band van Dave Wyndorf is veel meer dan die legendarische track. Monster Magnet is zelfs veel meer dan hun eigen oeuvre en daarom komt de band met een plaat vol covers.

Dat album met covers heeft Monster Magnet A Better Dystopia genoemd. Die release zal op 21 mei via Napalm Records gaan verschijnen. Het gaat hier wel om covers die cultstatus hebben. Denk daarbij aan tracks van Hawkwind en Table Scraps. Van Poo-Bah wordt ‘Mr. Destroyer’ gecoverd. Dat nummer heeft Monster Magnet online gezet als mooie smaakmaker voor die aankomende plaat. Check hun versie van deze track hier:

Reactie Dave Wyndorf

“We all agreed that we would be bored out of our minds within a month of lockdown. MONSTER MAGNET loves the road. It’s a lifestyle. So, I considered our options. Rather than panhandle on the internet, hawking masks and Zoom-rocking practice sessions for dollars, I suggested we record a “bunker record”. A total DIY affair (band only) recorded and mixed in Bob Pantella’s small but potent Freak Shop Studios/rehearsal space right here in New Jersey. But what to record?
I didn’t feel much like writing, but working on anything was better than watching the news as hospitals filled up, people died, and American politics went bat-shit crazy. The world roared “Dystopia! Apocalypse! Revolution!”. I’d heard those words before, and they brought to mind my childhood in the late 60’s/early 70’s… and the music… and short playlist of songs (just one of many) that I’d been carrying around with me on my whatever device to listen to before shows.

Of course, these tunes have also been in my head for more or less my whole life. These were not the popular hits of the time. This was like a playlist from the 4th dimension… strange bits of musical obscurity, mostly dredged up from that inglorious and freaky “twilight zone” time that preceded Arena Rock, Heavy Metal, Reggae and Disco. A no-man’s land of hard rock that still had remnants of psychedelia and garage punk but had abandoned any notion of “flower power” or frat house fun. And of course, they rocked. Yeah, these songs were it.”

Tracklist A Better Dystopia

1. The Diamond Mine
2. Born to Go 
3. Epitaph for a Head 
4. Solid Gold Hell       
5. Be Forewarned      
6. Mr. Destroyer        
7. When the Wolf Sits
8. Death         
9. Situation    
10. It’s Trash  
11. Motorcycle (Straight to Hell)       
12. Learning to Die    
13. Welcome to the Void – Bonus Track

Monster Magnet

Monster Magnet online





Verder Bericht

Vorige Bericht

© 2023 White Room Reviews

Thema door Anders Norén